Nasal Congestion (again)

The Nat is standing now…

I guess one good thing about my part-time arrangement is that when both the father and son are not well, I am available to bring them to the Doctor. This AM, my mom brought Nat and I to his PD while HJ slept in then in the PM, I brought HJ to the Doctor. This time round, Nat started having nose irritation over the weekend but we don’t know where he caught it from as none of us had any symptoms. Thereafter, he probably passed it to HJ. Anyhow, it doesn’t matter – those two are always passing germs around.

It’s quite strange actually because I observed that whenever HJ gets sick, Nat will sure catch something a few days later but not when I get sick? The last time I was unwell in May, I passed the germs to HJ first then after that, Nat started coughing (2 weeks after I first came down with the flu). Likewise, Nat has been having runny nose and nasal congestion for the past 3-4 days but I feel fine… can’t say the same for HJ though who succumbed to the flu quite fast.

As today was a walk-in appointment, we still have to go back to the PD next Monday for Nat’s 8 month routine vaccination.

Anyhow, since we went down today, we got new instructions from the PD with regard to food testing.

  • She isn’t worried that his daily milk intake isn’t consistently above 500ml – some random days when he really doesn’t feel like drinking much, he takes about 400ml+ of formula.
  • I guess there’s nothing to worry about because he’s gaining weight normally (9.1kg) and eats 4x semi-solid/solid meals a day!?
  • She also told us that we can start testing the following new foods:
  1. Beef
  2. Egg
  3. Cheese (?!)
  4. Yogurt
  • On top of the above list, I checked with the nurse and am going to add blueberries and plums.

Looks like we are in for quite an exciting month ahead with new foods and more milestones. I can already imagine one recipe that we can try in the next 2 weeks – beef potato hash (imagine it with cheese!) … so yummy.

– CK

Leave a Reply

