4 months!

Someone’s 4 months today! Though he sometimes wears clothes size 6-12months? Maybe it’s the cutting.

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-08 at 12.08.10 PM.jpeg

Anyhow, last night I was tidying his wardrobe to set aside clothes that he can’t fit for some of our friends. Then I saw a pair of tiny socks, the size of my thumb, that Nat wore when he was just a newborn. It then struck me (again) that babies grow up too fast… really way too fast.

The clearest sign is how independent he is now. I was recalling how in December 2016, after the confinement nanny left, Nat would sleep best at night if I sang some christian songs to him. Our favourite was Jesus Loves Me. I’ll usually just sing the shortened version below.

Jesus loves me! This I know,
For the Bible tells me so;
Little ones to Him belong;
They are weak, but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me.
Yes, Jesus loves me.
Yes, Jesus loves me.
The Bible tells me so.

Now, he usually naps/sleeps on his own and does not need anymore singing. At most, we need to “smack and shake” his butt to help him sleep if he’s unable to fall asleep after 15 minutes or so.

Somedays I miss the newborn stage when we could cradle him in just one arm. Yet, at 4 months, I guess things have become more fun because he’s awake longer for more activities. In terms of talking gibberish, that has multiplied also.

4 months also seem very short relative to the rest of his life. Even now, at 29 years old, my parents still feature predominantly in mine. I guess once you have a kid, you never stop being parents until the stage where it becomes their turn to look after you. Anyhow, we’ll cross all the bridges when we get there because at the moment, I would just like to focus on the here and now.

– CK

Leave a Reply

